I have a thinking problem…

Almost everyone has an addiction of one sort or another, whether they choose to admit it to themselves or not.  Some are addicted to alcohol, others to sex, others to food, or as in Robert Palmer’s case, they’re addicted to love.  My addiction is known to some, but many would not have added it to a list of things they might potentially become addicted to.  Thinking is my addiction.  I like to ponder, contemplate, meditate, cogitate, ruminate, and occasionally pontificate, as some of you may have noticed.  Some of the side effects of excessive thinking include chronic depression, an inability to form healthy relationships, reckless correction of others’ grammatical failings, and judgmental behavior towards folks who can’t think as much as you do.

As it stands, my addiction is my affliction.  For example, when I wanted to assess my chances of lasting happiness in the context of a long-term relationship with a woman, I did an analysis of demographic trends and some quick calculations to assess how many women in the global population had a high statistical likelihood of compatibility with me.  It probably would have been more useful for me to just go out and meet women.  Thinking does not always increase effectiveness in performing a particular task successfully, and it can cause people to compare you to Dr. House, which is at once tragic and wondrous.

So how do I deal with the negative consequences of excessive thinking?  Is there some healthy way that I can decrease how often and how much I think so that it no longer gets in the way of a normal and healthy life?

This entry was posted in Philosophy. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I have a thinking problem…

  1. leaflesstree says:

    I think I have this problem, also, although I do not do statistical analysis, my thinking is more along the lines of daydreaming and planning. I can spend hours thinking about how a future event might take place or how a past event might have occurred, or how the future might be or what I might do in the future. Or more fantastical things, too. What has helped me to overcome the desire to think is being around people who think more and do less than I do. Listening to a group of people plan every last detail of a future operation (and complain about how difficult it’s going to be) is SO boring, and halfway through the conversations I feel like screaming “Just Do It!” As for the side effects, well, I am of no assistance. I have figured out how to get things done at least in terms of work, but I haven’t been able to conquer depression or nurture healthy social relationships.

  2. I have the same problem. This is a quote I came up with: “Study now, think later.” When I find myself too distracted by my thoughts to do what is needed (which is often), I just repeat this to myself over and over again and try to concentrate on whatever I happen to be doing. There’s another quote (that I didn’t come up with). “Some people dream of success… while others wake up and act on it.” I like this quote because it shows how just merely dreaming achieves nothing.

  3. I think too much, also.  I usually spend my time daydreaming or worrying.  It’s still hard for me to control it.  I try to take slow, deep breaths and focus on one word or phrase, or I ask someone I know how they’re doing.  Helping others seems to take focus off of my own problems.

  4. raiderjester says:

    I’m the same way. Over-thinking in the wrong circumstances is my undoing.It’s good to see you blogging again, sir.

Leave a Reply

