Serenity

That calm and tranquil feeling that most people recognize as a moment of serenity is a near-constant state of existence for me. 

Thousands of thoughts can be tumbling around in my mind, and yet my brain coldly calculates the next course of action without hesitation.  I can be assaulted by a dozen different emotions at once, and yet my perceptions remain clear.  I can be surrounded by a flurry of activity, and yet my actions are clean and efficient in the midst of chaos.

My finances have been ruined by unemployment because the small business I worked for went under, and yet I remain.  My body has been damaged by serious injury and debilitated by grave illness, and yet I remain.  My heart has been broken by forbidden love and horrific betrayal, and yet I remain.  My soul has been bloodied and darkened by pain and sin, and yet I remain.

Take every object I own and every person I love away from me, and I will remain.  Destroy any possibility that I will ever realize my dreams and divest me of my hopes, and I will remain.

Kill me, and you simply take from me a gift that I never earned, leaving me with even less over which to cry. 

I’ve found sweet serenity, and you can’t take her from me.

This entry was posted in Philosophy, Poetic Prose. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Serenity

  1. Wow…Your description of it was simple and fluent like philosophical poetry. 

  2. Nous_Apeiron says:

    @Girl_Without_Pity – Thank you.  🙂   I’m glad you like it.

Leave a Reply

