Expecting the Unexpected

I live my life with very few expectations.  I don’t expect people to be nice to me, to consider my feelings, to act ethically, or even to simply not be cruel.  I don’t expect the world to leave me in peace, to clean itself up, or to be safe for my children. 

But one thing I do expect out of life is that it will surprise me in new and interesting ways, and my expectation has always been delivered on.  I expect that at any moment, my life could be altered drastically.  I expect that when I least expect it, someone important will enter my life and make it more meaningful.  I expect that things will change and that I will adapt to it.   I expect the unexpected.  What would truly be unexpected for me is if everything in my life were what I expected it to be.

This entry was posted in Philosophy, Poetic Prose. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Expecting the Unexpected

  1. I swear I have read that before, are you quoting something?

  2. Nous_Apeiron says:

    @exquisite_christine – I didn’t intend to quote anything.  But I’ll run it through Google and see if something similar comes up.Well, nothing came up in a quick Google search.  Maybe there’s a particular line you want me to check on?

  3. I googled it too and I am not accusing you of plagurism.  Just was wondering if you knew a source.  It must have just been similar wording.  I will let you know if I find where I have read the same line of reason before, but sorry if I seemed accusational.Anyway, if it’s not a famous short motivational speech it should be.Take care.

  4. Nous_Apeiron says:

    @exquisite_christine – Oh, no worries.  I didn’t think you were accusing me.  I’m just curious to see who thinks so much like me. 🙂

  5. Vintagesque says:

    My head is spinning… good thoughts though =)The part that sounds so familiar is probably just the line “expect the unexpected.”

  6. Nous_Apeiron says:

    @xo_vintagelove_xo – I’m glad you enjoyed it.  I hope your head doesn’t keep spinning.  You may have to see a doctor about it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

