Missing the Future

It might seem an odd thing, upon consideration, to feel a sense of loss about something that one has never had.  But it is such a natural practice that we engage in.  We often miss the lover we wish we could have been with, the car we wanted to own, the job we think would have been perfect for us, the loving family that we never had as children.  We miss the future that never came to be, the happiness that we could have had.

I’ve found that missing the future does nothing but prevent us from enjoying the present, the beautiful and the painful experiences that we do have and can learn from and enjoy.  I would rather appreciate my present reality than pine for a future fantasy.  In essence, I would prefer to be happy in the now rather than thinking about how I could have been happy if only…

This entry was posted in Philosophy, Poetic Prose. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Missing the Future

  1. I think I would be happier in now, but I don’t know how to completely push the ‘if only…’ out of my mind. I’d like to thing I am happy in the now, but on some odd days the ‘if only…’ thought just creeps up. I enjoy your entries very much.=)love.

  2. missing the future huh…good way to phrase something we all think about. thanks for the idea =]

  3. Nous_Apeiron says:

    @RacingThoughts – Thank you for the compliment. Trust me, I know all about how those “if only…” moments crop up. 🙂

  4. Anonymous says:

    very well said. your posts are so thoughtful.

  5. Nous_Apeiron says:

    @claireannette08 – Thank you :)Thoughtfulness is my best flaw.

Leave a Reply

