Freedom

Freedom means a variety of different things to all sorts of people.  For some, freedom is having rights.  The right to speak their opinions without reprisal from the government, the right to own property with having it taken from them by force, or the right to choose a particular medical procedure when others would rather you not.  For others, freedom is having the power to do whatever one wishes.  The power to get a fast car and drive it around a famous racetrack, the power to decide the rules that others must follow and enforce them, the power to kill and destroy others without being killed and destroyed in return. 

For both of these, freedom is seen as either a lack of restrictions or an ability to do things.  But for me, freedom is neither the former or the latter.  The freedom I have is far more valuable to me than either of the types of freedom so important to others.  The freedom that comes from the absence of fear is more profound than any other.  When one is free of fear, one is free of the pain of the unknown, free of the ruin of injury or illness, free of the coercion others will try to use upon you.  With this freedom, one cannot be forced, one cannot be debased, one cannot be trapped by uncertainty.  The heart that is free of fear is free to love others without holding on to secrets, lies, and insecurities.  The mind that is free of fear does not seek to cope with life, it simply lives.  One without fear avoids calamity because it is a practical move, not because it incites you to run from danger.  One without fear fights injustice because it is evil, not because it threatens your sense of security.

When one is without fear, one is truly free.

This entry was posted in Philosophy. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Freedom

  1. I really like this post… this sounds crazy, but it actually felt “freeing” to read it. It pushes your thoughts toward a sense of freedom and makes you feel it.

    But, I’m not free. I need to get out of the restrains of my eating disorder….

    Thanks, again, for a good read.

  2. Nous_Apeiron says:

    You’re very welcome. πŸ™‚ I wish you the best in freeing yourself from that eating disorder, and whatever else might be harming you.

  3. You have some very deep posts up.  Good, quality writing.  πŸ™‚

  4. Nous_Apeiron says:

    Thank you, I appreciate the compliment. πŸ™‚

  5. The face of megatron talking about freedom?  Strange.  So, what is your source of freedom?  Do you really consider freedom to be something the government can give?

  6. icechen28 says:

    It is when you have lost everything that you are free to do anything.-tyler durden, fight club

  7. icechen28 says:

    Oh yeah, so is Dragonforce. pretty dope live.

  8. Nous_Apeiron says:

    @icechen28 – And that’s part of why that movie was awesome. πŸ™‚

  9. Nous_Apeiron says:

    @realungabunga – I’m not sure how to answer your question further, given that the second paragraph of my post already answers both the positive and negative portions of your question. But in an attempt to clarify, my freedom stems from a lack of fear and it is not something a government can give.

  10. @JalapenoCol – What do you base your lack of fear on?  How do you decide if you are fearful?

  11. Nous_Apeiron says:

    Ah, you want a definition of fear and the algorithm I use to apply it. Gotcha.Fear is an emotional and physiological phenomena, and I experience it as such. The signs that I am experiencing it are 1) a sensation of being threatened 2) irrational apprehension 3) increased sweating or nervous energy.

  12. Angaerin says:

    @JalapenoCol – You answered realungabunga’s second question, but not his first, and I’m curious as well: what do you base your *lack* of fear on?I like this post very much, particularly the sentence, “The mind that is free of fear does not seek to cope with life, it simply lives,” because I’ve come to realize that truth very tangibly through my own experience. My I have permission to quote your words here if I find occasion to do so? The only negative comment I would have is that, while you are promoting a freedom from fear, every one of your entries comes off as if you are pulling your punches and not saying half of what you think. You don’t, in fact, seem all that fearless.

  13. Nous_Apeiron says:

    @Angaerin – Thank you. You’re welcome to quote my words as you like.You’re right that I don’t say half of what I think. I’d rather not spend quite that much time blogging. :)I think I’ll need a rephrased question regarding the basis for my lack of fear. Is the question about how it happens? Why it happens?

  14. Angaerin says:

    @JalapenoCol – Speaking for myself, I’d like to know why it happens. What causes or accounts for your lack of fear, when so much in this world provides incentive to be fearful?

Leave a Reply

